By Doug Young

* MY ‘TOP PICK’ GOLD IRA COMPANY

augusta precious metals gold ira

Summary

  • There are many benefits of working with Augusta Precious Metals, and many good reasons for choosing them above all of their competitors.
  • Maybe most impressive of all is the fact that the company has ZERO complaints with the BBB and BCA since it opened in 2012 – even complaints that have been closed or resolved.
  • In over twenty years of experience in the precious metals industry I haven’t come across any other gold IRA company that can say that. It might seem like a small thing, but it says a lot that no customers over all those years felt they needed to share bad experiences in reviews.

My Rating

Call

Visit Orange
Retired Couple
 What makes Augusta Precious Metals stand out from the rest?
What makes Augusta Precious Metals stand out from the rest?

  • Strict Compliance: APM voluntarily opens itself up to regular independent compliance audits.
  • Recognized Excellence: Money Magazine recognised APM as the ‘Best Overall Gold IRA Company’ in both 2022 and 2023.
  • Acknowledged Transparency: Investopedia acknowledged them for ‘Most Transparent Pricing’ in 2022 and 2023.
  • Impeccable Reputation: A+ rating at BBB; AAA rating at BCA.
  • FREE Gold Welcome Gift: when you open a Gold IRA with APM. A nice touch!
  • Highest Buyback Guarantee: Liquidate your investment with utmost confidence.
  • 7-Day Money Back Guarantee: Open your account with peace of mind and assurance.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee: Retain full control. Seamlessly switch if Augusta fails to meet your expectations.
  • ZERO Gold IRA Fees: Pay no Gold IRA Fees for up to 10 years – everyone qualifies.
  • Cutting Edge Education: Benefit from a free, unique 1-on-1 educational web conference with their on-staff Harvard-trained economist.
  • Freedom of Choice: Make your own choices from a selection of the most popular gold and silver products. APM gives you the opportunity to tailor your precious metals investments.
  • Trusted by Notable Figures: APM is the top choice of hall of fame quarterback Joe Montana and his financial team. It’s also approved by respected figures Ben Ferguson, and Judge Jeanine Pirro.
  • Lifetime Account Support: APM provides support throughout the entirety of your account to ensure you always have the assistance and guidance you need.
Visit Orange

‘At a Glance’ Analysis
Website augustapreciousmetals.com
Phone No.
INDEPENDENT RATINGS:
Better Business Bureau (BBB) Rating – Scale of A+ to F
BBB Customer Ratings
BBB Customer Complaints (Opened and/or Closed)
Business Consumer Alliance (BCA) Rating – Scale of AAA to F
BCA Customer Ratings
BCA Complaints (Opened and/or Closed)
Trustlink Rating
Google My Business
RETIREMENT FUNDS:
Gold IRAs Offered
Silver IRAs Offered
CASH ACCOUNTS:
Gold Bullion Offered
Silver Bullion Offered
GENERAL:
Preferred Depository
Preferred Custodian
Minimum IRA Investment $50,000
Physical IRA Application
Digital IRA Application
FEES:
Set Up $50 + $30 wire fee
Admin (annually) $80
Storage (annually) Segregated: $159
Non Segregated: $100
Management
None
TIMESCALES:
IRA Transfer Process as fast as 2 days
401k Rollover Process 7 to 14 days
Delivery of Metals 7 to 10 days
Booking into Free One-on-One Web Conference 2 days or less
PEACE OF MIND:
US Mint Listed Dealer
ICTA Member
ethics.net
SPECIAL INCENTIVES FOR NEW CUSTOMERS:
Incentive #1 FREE GOLD when you open a Gold IRA. Choose from 3 Gold Coins.
Incentive #2
Up to 10 years of custodian and storage fees covered by Augusta (ask how many years you qualify for)
Incentive #3 Free one-on-one educational web conference with Harvard trained economist
VISIT AUGUSTA PRECIOUS METALS:

Request Your FREE Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA Guide

augusta precious metals guide guideendorsement

free-apm-guide

Augusta Money Logo

I pride myself on being recognised as an authority in this industry. As someone with a wealth of experience with gold IRAs and expertise in evaluating gold IRA companies stretching back in excess of two decades, I feel qualified to share my personal experiences and research findings on Augusta Precious Metals with you, and to offer a trustworthy verdict…

How Augusta Precious Metals Has Evolved

Augusta Precious Metals was founded by their CEO, Isaac Nuriani in 2012.

Since its inception, Augusta has been laser-focused on helping retirement investors protect their savings using physical gold and silver IRAs. Over the years, the company has become known for its deep specialized knowledge and exceptional customer service.

Part of Augusta’s story is that the company noticed American consumers are not always given all the information they deserve to know about the nation’s economy and all investment alternatives (financial advisors rarely include gold and silver in investment choices, because they do not always sell them).

That prompted the company to develop a robust educational offering that includes a blog, video blog, series of educational videos and most importantly, the free one-on-one web conference where consumers can speak directly to the experts at Augusta, including Devlyn Steele who designed the program.

I have found the level of education provided by APM to be exceptional, and even with over 20 years expertise in the precious metals field I continue to learn from their regular insightful videos and news analysis.

Mr Steele, who is a Harvard-trained economist, noticed Augusta and independently of any request by Augusta approached the company and requested that he become involved. He has since become the company’s Director of Education.

Since its founding Augusta Precious Metals has helped thousands of consumers understand precious metals and open gold and silver IRAs.

Augusta Today

  • Augusta in is based in Casper, Wyoming, with a satellite office in Beverly Hills, CA. They are known for clear to consumer education, transparency, competitive prices and compliance – and their strong commitment to customers “over the lifetime of your account”.
  • Augusta Precious Metals has refrained from watering down its expertise and specialty in gold IRAs – it doesn’t do anything else (other than straightforward cash accounts for physical gold and silver). This means the company’s precious metals IRA knowledge and background is as robust as any in the industry, as is the infrastructure it provides to support Augusta gold IRA customers. I am sure this accounts for many customers referring in their feedback to a stress-free gold IRA process and a feeling of confidence in their purchases.

Management Structure

Augusta Precious Metals’ two primary executives are their Founder, Isaac Nuriani and their Director of Education, Devlyn Steele.

Isaac Nuriani – Founder and CEO

Isaac Nuriani

Isaac Nuriani

Augusta Precious Metals Founder and CEO Isaac Nuriani launched the company with the aim of helping retirement savers diversify their investments firstly through education and then by taking advantage of physical precious metals.

Having spent many years prior to that assisting American seniors with their finances, Mr Nuriani took it upon himself to empower the everyday public with knowledge about economic policies that were geared towards helping banks and corporations more so than private individuals saving for their retirements.

He started Augusta to not only educate individuals about all this but also to offer better alternatives and solutions to them. He did so with the determination to offer quality service and a strict commitment to transparency and ethics. He followed through by becoming members of both ICTA (Industry Council for Tangible Assets) and Ethics.net.

He is firmly committed to helping Americans diversify and protect their retirement savings with gold and silver IRAs. I have shared several personal conversations with Isaac Nuriani, and on each occasion his passion for helping others to protect their futures was very apparent to me.

Mr Nuriani graduated from the Los Angeles University of California with an honors degree in economics and to this day still guides and mentors industry professionals on retirement stability for Americans.

Devlyn Steele – Director of Education

At Augusta Precious Metals Devlyn Steele heads up an educational team which is dedicated to acquainting financially conservative Americans about the benefits of alternative assets for diversifying their investments and savings.


Mr Steele is well known for predicting both the financial crisis of 2008 and the surging gold and silver prices that followed it. His economic and financial services career spans three decades, during which time he has been responsible for processing financial assets valued in excess of $2 billion.

Devlyn Steele is Augusta’s on-staff Harvard trained economist who hosts their acclaimed free and unique one-on-one gold and silver web conferences which he personally designed.

Many successful and wealthy customers have benefited from the insights revealed during these conferences which Mr Steele’s membership of the distinguished Harvard Business School business analytics program helped him create.

I can personally vouch for the quality of cutting-edge information and in-depth analysis provided by Mr Steele.

This video, in which Devlyn Steele reveals what experts think about the long-term prospects for precious metals, is an example of the information and analysis provided by him and the Augusta Education Team

LEARN MORE! SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE WEB CONFERENCE

Reputation

Recognition and Achievements

  • During my exploration into Augusta’s reputation, I was particularly impressed with what has NOT been written about them. I’m referring here to the fact that there have been ZERO complaints made EVER about the company at either the Better Business Bureau (BBB) or the Business Consumer Alliance (BCA) – even complaints that have been closed or resolved.
    To put that into perspective, since its inception in 2012 not one single Augusta customer has found it necessary to share bad experiences in their feedback. That speaks volumes about them for me, as throughout many years of evaluating gold IRA companies I have never come across any others that can proclaim such a record.
  • These indications of quality service are supported by many thousands of 5-star ratings from consumers.
  • Voted ‘Best Overall Gold IRA Company’ in 2022 and 2023 by Money Magazine.
  • Voted ‘Most Transparent Pricing’ in 2022 and 2023 by Investopedia.
  • Awarded ‘Best of’ by TrustLink for 6 consecutive years.

Endorsements

Joe Montana endorsement

Joe Montana

Augusta Precious Metals is endorsed by Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana.

Joe Montana endorsement

Joe Montana

When I looked further into this endorsement I discovered that the difference between this one and many others is that Joe Montana asked his advisors to find a way to protect his retirement. They said he should invest in gold, so he asked them to find the best gold IRA company in the United States and they independently found Augusta Precious Metals.

In fact, I was later told by the staff at Augusta Precious Metals that Mr. Montana signed up for a web conference with Devlyn Steele independent of any request by Augusta, and Mr. Steele did not realize until later that it was Joe Montana.

To me as a seasoned professional, that is a strong indication that this company belongs in the top tier of gold IRA companies.

JOIN THE SAME WINNING TEAM AS JOE MONTANA >>

This is what Mr Montana posted at Trustlink:

joe montana trustlink

I found it assuring during my extended analysis that Augusta Precious Metals are also approved by trustworthy commentators Ben Ferguson and Judge Jeanine Pirro.

Ratings

From my vast my experience and expertise of evaluating different precious metals companies I am very aware that ratings at independent consumer watch websites are an excellent indication of how a company has performed in the past and present, since it’s their customers’ comments which are being evaluated and scored.

Augusta Precious Metals’ exceptional ratings at all the main independent consumer watch sites point to a first class all round performance.

I check regularly, and my updated research as of provides the following specific evidence of this:

BBB – Better Business Bureau

  • At The BBB (Better Business Bureau) Augusta Precious Metals are an Accredited Business with the maximum A+ Rating and 4.97 out of 5 Stars based on 119 Customer Reviews.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) is a reputable non-profit organization with a century-long legacy of assisting individuals in discovering reliable and trustworthy businesses. The BBB serves as a valuable resource for consumers, providing them with the ability to rate businesses based on their experiences. By upholding the highest standards of ethics and professionalism, the BBB promotes a fair and transparent marketplace for all.

BCA – Business Consumer Alliance

The BCA rating is determined using a sophisticated formula that incorporates several key factors, including the nature of the business, the duration of its operation, adherence to licensing requirements, complaint history, and overall industry experience. All of this carefully weighs the significance of each factor in determining the company’s reliability. The system is designed to provide a thorough and accurate assessment of a company’s trustworthiness and to aid consumers in their decision-making process.

Trustlink

  • At Trustlink Augusta Precious Metals have a 5 Star Rating based on 286 Customer Reviews

Augusta has been recognized and included on the esteemed ‘Best of’ list by TrustLink for multiple years.

TrustLink is a reputable platform dedicated to fostering trusted relationships between businesses and consumers. One of the key features of TrustLink is its commitment to ensuring the authenticity of reviews. TrustLink guarantee that the individuals providing feedback are confirmed customers of the companies they have reviewed. This verification process adds an extra layer of credibility and reliability to the reviews, enabling users to make well-informed decisions based on genuine experiences.

Consumer Affairs

  • At Consumer Affairs Augusta Precious Metals have a 4.9 out of 5 Stars Rating based on 137 Customer Reviews

Consumer Affairs is a highly respected independent consumer watch website. It offers a platform where individuals can access and evaluate authentic feedback from fellow customers, and assists them in making informed and educated choices.

Google My Business

  • At Google My Business Augusta Precious Metals have a 4.9 out of 5 Stars Rating based on 420 Customer Reviews

Google boasts one of the most frequently utilized consumer feedback platforms globally. The Google feedback system offers a convenient and user-friendly avenue for individuals to share their experiences and comment on various businesses and services. By leveraging the power of this widely recognized platform, users can contribute to building a transparent and reliable information hub for fellow consumers.

Complaints

How Do Augusta Compare With Their Competitors?

As I’ve already mentioned, when checking and comparing complaints at Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Business Consumer Alliance (BCA) I was impressed to discover that Augusta is the only gold IRA company that has never received a complaint, since they started in business, at these highly respected independent review sites.

This sets Augusta Precious Metals apart and is further evidence of their excellent performance record.

In the table below I am putting that into perspective by showing you a comparison of the number of complaints that their competitors have received.

 

Gold IRA Company

 

Better Business Bureau (BBB) Complaints

 

Business Consumer Alliance (BCA) Complaints

Augusta Precious Metals ZERO (All Time) ZERO (All Time)
Advantage Gold 0 complaint closed in last 3 years

0 complaint closed in last 12 months

0 in last 3 years
American Hartford Gold 36 complaints closed in last 3 years

21 complaints closed in last 12 months

2 in last 3 years
BGASC 2 complaints closed in last 3 years

2 complaints closed in last 12 months

Not Listed
Birch Gold Group 8 complaints closed in last 3 years

4 complaints closed in last 12 months

0 in last 3 years
Blanchard & Company 0 complaint closed in last 3 years

0 complaints closed in last 12 months

0 in last 3 years
Goldco 48 complaints closed in last 3 years

28 complaints closed in last 12 months

1 in last 3 years
Goldline 13 complaints closed in last 3 years

5 complaints closed in last 12 months

0 in last 3 years
Rosland Capital 22 complaints closed in last 3 years

12 complaints closed in last 12 months

4 in last 3 years

 

Customer Feedback

I consider it very important to check out customer feedback when evaluating a company’s performance, since this comes from people who have actually used the products and then report back on their experiences of what the product was like for them personally.

Let me share my research findings with you into what Augusta Precious Metals customers have said about them.

Positive Feedback

There are many (literally thousands) of examples of positive Augusta Precious Metals feedback online. I discovered that customers seem to be particularly impressed with:

  • Augusta’s track record of exceptional customer service, in part due to helpful informational materials, especially the one-on-one web conference and account lifetime support
  • Augusta’s fast and easy account opening process, with seamless and well-practised assistance through five different departments
  • the account and pricing transparency and compliance at this company, for which it has been awarded and recognized

Negative Feedback

I was unable to find any 100% negative feedback for Augusta. What I did find however was some instances of negativity contained within 4 and 5 Star Ratings which were overall positive. This was mainly in the form of comments about prices and questions about how Augusta made their profit. I also found a couple of examples of customers saying that they were overall happy with the service they had been given but they considered the delivery time for their metals was longer than they had anticipated.

On each occasion an Augusta Precious Metals representative had replied with an explanation that the customers concerned subsequently commented was to their satisfaction. Regarding the questions regarding prices and profit, the bid-ask spread, which is the gap between the bid (from buyers) and the ask (from sellers) prices of a security or asset, was explained. Regarding the delivery times, Augusta explained that the delay had been caused by a rare unforeseen circumstance which had been unavoidable.

Ratio of Positive to Negative Feedback

Overall the ratio of positive to negative feedback that I came across was extremely high, around 98%. Of all the gold IRA companies that I have evaluated over many years, this was the highest I have seen. I suspect this is quite likely because of their commitment to compliance and to regular independent audits.

Augusta customer Herbert Campbell shares his experience:

Examples of Customers’ feedback online

Below are screenshots of some of the comments about Augusta Precious Metals that I found at well respected independent consumer watch sites.

At Better Business Bureau:

bbb reviews

At Google My Business:

google reviews

At Trustlink:

trustlink reviews

Visit Orange

Range of Services Offered

Gold & Silver IRAs and Cash Purchases

Augusta Precious Metals offers gold and silver IRAs (self-directed accounts approved by the IRS) and gold and silver cash purchases (outside of an IRA). Each of the products has a purpose for different types of investors. Augusta has many years of experience helping retirement investors with all types of needs build a precious metals portfolio to help them offset potential losses through effective diversification.

Gold IRA Accounts Process

Augusta’s streamlined process for setting up and managing gold IRA accounts is a part of its special offerings (see more below in discussion of the company’s process). It uses an assembly line style of processing that makes everything easy and quick. Augusta personnel do 95% of the paperwork with you, which removes any worry of accuracy and compliance. During my extensive research into Augusta Precious Metals reviews I found that many customers had made a specific reference to that.

Order Desk

Augusta’s order desk provides detailed information about the most common gold and silver investment options to make your choices easier. In addition to providing common, time-tested gold and silver options, the company works with the Royal Canadian Mint to provide one-of-a-kind, purer coins to choose from.

In conjunction with their core services referred to above Augusta Precious Metals will help and guide you with:

Retirement Account Rollovers

In addition to the two types of accounts (IRA and Cash Purchase), Augusta will provide assistance with any kind of retirement account rollover.

Account Lifetime Support

Augusta makes a point to commit to full gold and silver customer service for the lifetime of your account, which means they are there to help with any interaction with your custodian and storage facility, as well as disbursements, building a legacy for your family, and buybacks – anything related to physical gold and silver.

What are Gold and Silver IRAs?

  • Gold and Silver IRAs (often referred to collectively as a Gold IRA) are Self Directed IRA accounts which make it possible for you to legitimately (in compliance with the IRS) diversify your retirement assets by including physical gold and silver in the same way that you would include, say, stocks or bonds in a traditional IRA.
  • You can transfer or rollover an existing retirement account into a gold or silver IRA without the need to change your existing annual contribution arrangements.

Why Choose a Gold or Silver IRA?

  • When you have a retirement savings account that includes gold and/or silver you could shield your total assets against market crashes and volatility and against the erosive consequences of inflation, any or all of which have the potential to diminish the savings that you worked so hard for.

LEARN MORE! SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE WEB CONFERENCE >>

  • Gold and silver show a pattern of going up in value whenever markets fall and inflation rises. Hence, either or both of these precious metals are commonly used as a ‘hedge’. By including them as a percentage of your retirement savings you could balance them and reduce risks.
  • Over time gold and silver have always risen in value. They are most effective as long term investments and therefore are well suited to be included in your overall retirement holdings.
  • A gold or silver IRA gives you an opportunity to invest in these precious metals with no money down. Rather than having to dig into your pockets to find new funds you can divert existing funds that are sitting in your retirement fund(s), with no need to disrupt your cashflow.
  • A gold or silver IRA enables you to invest in gold and/or silver with tax benefits. The precious metals professionals at Augusta Precious Metals are fully conversant with these and can help you take advantage of them.

LEARN MORE! SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE WEB CONFERENCE >>

Important Facts About Gold and Silver IRAs

  • Gold and Silver IRAs are governed by the same rules and regulations as other IRA accounts.
  • You are not limited to just precious metals in a Gold or Silver IRA. You have the option of also including traditional investments such as stocks and bonds and alternative assets such as real estate.
  • Once you turn 72 minimum distributions are required. If you take distributions before age 59.5 you may incur penalties.
  • An IRA custodian must manage your Gold or Silver IRA.
  • Your precious metals must be stored at an approved depository.

Note: Augusta Precious Metals pledge to all their customers account lifetime support with all these requirements and more, so you are in safe hands and not alone or exposed.

Gold Quote

Every American deserves to be able to protect their retirement savings – and gold and silver can help.

We support you every step of the way.

Gold and Silver are your financial insurance

– Isaac Nuriani, Augusta Precious Metals CEO

The Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA

Process For Setting Up a Gold or Silver IRA Account

I was truly impressed with how easy Augusta Precious Metals make it for you to set up your gold or silver IRA account. They do this in a streamlined process that involves experts in all departments.

Step 1

First, the education department helps you learn about the economy and how gold and silver fit into it – and how Americans have used precious metals for eons to hold savings value and protect against economic stresses. The education department reveals economic information most financial advisors won’t share.

Step 2

They generate a host of articles, videos and other materials and tools to assist gold and silver investors, but in my opinion the crowning jewel of the company’s educational offerings is the free, one-on-one web conference designed by the company’s director of education, Devlyn Steele. He is a Harvard-trained economist who leads a team of experts on the economy and gold and silver.

Step 3

Each customer is assigned a personal customer success agent who guides you through all the steps of opening an account, funding it and choosing metals for your precious metals portfolio.

(Augusta’s IRA processing department does 95% of the paperwork with you to make the process simple and transparent. That really appealed to me, as although I am a highly experienced professional in this field, I still hate having to fill in loads of forms!).

Step 4

Once your account is funded, they introduce you to the Augusta order desk, where you’ll receive portfolio-building assistance from Augusta’s product expert.

Step 5

Finally, after you place your order, Augusta connects you with its confirmation department for a no-stress, official phone confirmation to finalize the order, so you can feel confident and sure of your purchase.

Notes

  • I wish to remind you that as is normal practice when opening any type of financial account, it will be necessary for you to disclose personal information such as your social security number.
  • Your new Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA will be administered by their pre-selected custodians. They carefully selected gold and silver custodians following a comprehensive vetting process and have since worked with them for many years. You can access your custodian at any time if you choose or you can opt, as most customers do, to let Augusta liaise with them on your behalf.

Get Started Orange

What Makes Augusta Precious Metals Unique?

what makes augusta precious metals unique
In my pursuit to provide valuable insights I am listing for you what I consider to be the main attributes that set Augusta Precious Metals apart from their competitors:

  • Transparency and Compliance: Augusta has been recognized more than any other gold IRA company for its transparency. In addition to being highly transparent with its prices, fees and agreements, Augusta has a robust compliance department with a neutral third-party administrator who was instrumental in designing the company’s systems and oversees its activities to ensure compliance with these systems. On its website, Augusta says, ‘When we can, we go further than the law to fulfil its spirit of protection’. The compliance team also includes outside counsel and a dedicated professional writer/editor. Personally, I consider all this to be extremely important in the age we live in.
  • Trust: The above also prompted Augusta to beef up its compliance program, which includes a number of ways that the company acts transparently so customers know exactly what they are buying. APM voluntarily opens itself to regular independent compliance audits. All of this has led to various awards, including being acknowledged for ‘Most Transparent Pricing’ by Investopedia.
  • ZERO Complaints: Amazingly, Augusta Precious Metals has had zero complaints EVER – even complaints that have been closed or resolved – with the BBB and BCA. This proved to me that the company not only has a great track record of customer service, but also that the Augusta team is genuinely adept in its management of the process of opening a gold IRA.
  • Highest Buyback Guarantee: This gives you the option to reclaim your investment whenever you desire, with the utmost confidence and peace of mind.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee:  Should Augusta fail to meet your expectations, they make it effortless for you to explore alternative options. Should you choose to do so, you can transition to an alternative solution seamlessly, without any hassle or inconvenience.
  • 7-Day Money Back Guarantee: Should you find that Augusta’s services do not align with your needs or meet your expectations within the first week, they will promptly refund your investment, no questions asked.
  • Fees Waived: My extensive research led me to conclude that Augusta is the only company that pays up to 10 years of fees for qualified customers.
  • Extensive Education: Although a few other gold IRA companies provide helpful education to customers, Augusta Precious Metals backs up this claim with a robust series of blogs, video blogs, educational videos, online articles — and of course its unique free, one-on-one gold and silver web conference. The designer of the web conference material was specifically trained at the Harvard Business School in analytics that provide a unique resource for Augusta’s customers.
  • Account Lifetime Support: Another unique quality of this company is that it clearly states it provides ongoing service through the entire lifetime of your account. This instils confidence in Augusta, because it means the company intends to be just as attentive to customers after the sale as before the sale.
  • Gold IRA Specialists: Finally, Augusta Precious Metals has refrained from watering down its expertise and specialty in gold IRAs — it doesn’t do anything else (other than straightforward cash accounts for physical gold and silver). This means the company’s precious metals IRA knowledge and background not only can be assessed as the most robust in the industry, but the infrastructure it provides to support Augusta gold IRA customers may be as strong or stronger than any other. For customers, that indicates you may experience a less stressful process and feel greater confidence in purchases.

Fees

For the fee amounts please scroll down to the table below. Augusta will cover up to 10 years of custodian and storage fees on qualifying purchases (ask how many years you qualify for).

Some gold IRA companies charge scaled fees and others charge flat fees. There is an important difference between the two types, which I would like to bring to your attention:

Scaled fees are computed as a percentage of your fund’s value and therefore increase in line with the growth of your fund. Flat fees remain constant regardless of your retirement fund’s value. Flat fees are nearly always favourable as they work out to be less over time.

Augusta charges flat fees.

Fees Compared With Main Competitors

In this table I have compared Augusta Precious Metals fees with those charged by other leading Gold IRA Companies.

Gold IRA Company Set Up Fees  

Admin Fees (annually)

 

Storage Fees (annually)

 

Fee Type

Augusta Precious Metals $50 + $30 wire fee $80 $150 for segregated
$100 for non-segregated
Flat
Advantage Gold $295 $175 $100 Flat
American Hartford Gold $50 $100 $150 for segregated
$100 for non-segregated
Flat
BGASC Not divulged Not divulged Not divulged Not divulged
Birch Gold Group $90 Not divulged $160 Flat
Blanchard & Company $25 $60-$250 (scaled) $100 (scaled) Scaled
Goldco $50 + $30 wire fee $80 $150 for segregated
$100 for non-segregated
Flat
Goldline $125 $60-$250 (scaled) $100 (scaled) Scaled
Rosland Capital $50 £225 Not divulged Flat

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

During my analysis of Augusta Precious Metals I discovered a number of common questions being asked. I have listed and answered them below. I got most of the answers direct from Augusta’s Customer Services team.

From the first time I ever contacted Augusta it became very apparent to me how transparent they are. When I initially cold called them Kevin in Customer Service answered all my questions, didn’t give me a sales pitch and didn’t demand a phone number or email address from me before providing all the information that I was requesting. This was a very different experience to when I had cold called various other Gold IRA Companies previously.

FAQ

  • How long have they been in business?

    Since January 2012 when the company was formed by founder and CEO Isaac Nuriani.

  • What assurances can I get that that Augusta Precious Metals isn’t a scam?

    • They have been voted ‘Best Overall Gold IRA Company’ in 2022 and 2023 by Money Magazine
    • CEO and Founder Isaac Nuriani is a member of both Ethics.net and ICTA (Industry Council for Tangible Assets)
    • Augusta has a dedicated compliance department with a neutral third-party administrator. Plus they voluntarily open themselves up to regular independent compliance audits
    • The Company has been acknowledged for ‘Most Transparent Pricing ‘ by Investopedia in 2022 and 2023
    • They have the highest possible ratings at Better Business Bureau and Business Consumer Alliance: A+ at BBB and AAA at BCA
  • Do they offer a Money Back Guarantee?

    Yes. They offer a 7 Day ‘no questions asked’ Money Back Guarantee. Plus, in accordance with their ‘100% Satisfaction Guarantee’, if at any time you consider that the company is not aligned with your expectations or needs you have the freedom to investigate alternatives and to switch with no hassle or inconvenience.

  • Do they offer a Buy Back option?

    Yes. They offer a ‘Highest Buyback Guarantee’, which means that you can reclaim your investment at any point.

  • How does the Buy Back option work?

    It’s straightforward: you need to inform them which metals you wish to sell, and they guide you through a verbal confirmation to lock in the prices. Their IRA processing team then takes the necessary steps to transfer the funds back to your custodian. For liquidation, the costs involved include the spread and shipping fees.

  • Will I have easy access to my Augusta personal customer success agent?

    Yes. The customer success agent assigned to you is always accessible during business hours. Should they be assisting another customer when you call, they will call you back at the earliest opportunity. Alternatively, you can call Augusta’s customer engagement line.

  • Is it true that I get FREE GOLD when I open a Gold IRA?

    Yes. When you open an Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA you can choose from 3 Gold Coins as a special welcome gift. Let me share with you some inside information here! You can choose from a stunning American Gold Eagle, Majestic Polar Bear, Canada or Gold Brittania.

  • What is the delivery time for my precious metals?

    Shipment will be 7 to 10 days from the time your order is placed and confirmed.

  • What are the minimum and maximum order amounts?

    The minimum is $50,000 for either IRA or cash purchases. There is no maximum.

  • What types of precious metals can I invest in?

    Augusta Precious Metals offers a variety of products ranging from gold and silver bullion coins and bars to premium coins. The company will guide you on which types are eligible for an IRA. While they advertise just gold and silver, they will also consider platinum and palladium upon request.

  • Am I buying physical precious metals?

    Yes. You are buying the physical metals, not a paper certificate.

  • Can I inspect the precious metals in my IRA?

    Yes. Your metals will be delivered to the depository you chose when you opened your account. You can contact the depository to arrange a visit.

  • Where are the depositories located?

    You can choose the private storage facility that is most conveniently located to you. Current locations are Springfield Gardens New York, Los Angeles California, Jackson Ohio, New Castle Delaware, Salt Lake City Utah and Wilmington Delaware.

  • Are my precious metals secure and insured at the depository?

    Yes. The storage fees you pay include insurance, typically a Lloyds of London all risk policy covering damage or physical loss. This is of course in addition to the major physical state of the art security that comes with vaulted storage. The facility preferred and recommended by Augusta is the Delaware Depository.

  • Would my precious metals be at risk should the depository have financial problems?

    No. Your metals are stored fully allocated (i.e. in your name) and not included in the depository’s balance sheet. Therefore, they would never be part of the depository’s assets and liabilities. This means that in the extremely unlikely event of the depository declaring bankruptcy the creditors would have no claim whatsoever on your metals.

  • Can I store my IRA precious metals at home?

    No. IRS rules stipulate that they must be stored at an IRS approved depository.

  • Is it true that there are no management fees with an Augusta Precious Metals gold or silver IRA?

    Yes. It’s a self directed IRA, managed by you. You manage the precious metals within it so you make all the purchase and sales decisions (with guidance from Augusta if required). The only fees payable are modest ones for account set up and storage.

  • Will I receive free shipping and transit insurance of my metals?

    Yes. This applies to all your purchases.

  • Can my current traditional IRA, Roth IRA, 401k, 403b or other retirement plan be rolled over into a gold IRA?

    Yes. Augusta Precious Metals will assist you to ensure that the rollover of your funds is a smooth and stress free process.

  • Can I include any type of precious metals in my gold IRA?

    No. IRS rules must be adhered to. The Augusta experts are completely on top of all the rules and regulations and would never allow you to purchase metals which are not IRS approved.

Pros and Cons

One thing I don’t like about Augusta Precious Metals is their high entry point for a gold IRA compared with most of their competitors. I consider that to be a shame because it means that some would-be customers are unable to take advantage of the excellent investment opportunity that they offer.

Their good points substantially outweigh the bad ones however, as I have demonstrated in the Pros and Cons list below.

Strictly Compliant – APM voluntarily opens itself up to regular independent compliance audits.

They have a $50,000 minimum, so it is best for those who have higher total savings

Voted ‘Best Overall Gold IRA Company’ in 2022 and 2023 by Money Magazine

You can’t add gold or silver you already own to your APM IRA

Voted ‘Most Transparent Pricing’ in 2022 and 2023 by Investopedia

No International Sales – U.S and Canada Only

ZERO BBB and BCA complaints since the company began in 2012

Highest possible ratings at BBB and BCA: A+ at BBB and AAA at BCA

Highest Buyback Guarantee

100% Satisfaction Guarantee

7 Day Money Back Guarantee

Free Gold Welcome Gift when you open a Gold IRA

Zero Gold IRA fees for up to 10 years – Everyone qualifies

On-staff Harvard-trained economist Devlyn Steele leads a unique, free one-on-one educational web conference

Endorsed by hall of fame quarterback Joe Montana, whose financial advisors found Augusta for him

Account lifetime support

Free transit insurance and shipping on all orders

Who Are Augusta Best Suited For?

  • For those who are just learning about precious metals, Augusta Precious metals provides robust, personalized educational materials, experiences and process guidance. The company is known for its streamlined, assembly-line-like process to make opening an account quick and easy.
  • For those already well-versed in precious metal investments, who know they want a gold or silver IRA, the depth of Augusta’s specialized experience can provide more complex insights into the economy and the use of physical gold and silver to protect retirement accounts.
  • For those nervous about investing in alternative assets like physical gold and silver, Augusta provides highly transparent, detailed information, and compliance assurances for customer confidence and trust – and ongoing customer service, even after the transaction is complete.
  • For those looking for the best deal, Augusta Precious Metals offers competitive prices and the industry’s best value-added services, such as payment of customer fees up to 10 years, free shipping and transit insurance, and free educational materials and consultations.

My Verdict: Should You Choose Augusta Precious Metals?

Yes, 100%. Whether you want to safeguard your retirement investments with a Gold IRA or invest in gold and silver directly, based on a combination of personal experience and extensive research my wholehearted recommendation is that…

Augusta are the ‘Go To’ Company.

My Rating
Start Protecting Orange
My Rating

Start Protecting Orange
My aim is to provide you with valuable insights and recommendations based on the experience and expertise that I have gained in over two decades of involvement in the precious metals industry. Having compared Augusta Precious Metals extensively with other leading Gold IRA Companies my overwhelming conclusion is that they have outshone the competition.

They tick all the boxes when it comes to their ratings, reputation, customer service, prices, transparency and the amount of happy customers that they have.

Recap: The Benefits of an Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA

  • Tax Deferment: There is no loss of tax advantages when an existing IRA is rolled over. Once your Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA is set up any gains are tax deferred until you either withdraw metals from your account or sell them.
  • Wealth Protection: Historically gold and silver have always acted as hedges against market turmoil and volatility, a depreciating US Dollar and rising inflation. As an example, during the crash of 2008 the stock market lost more than half of its value whereas gold increased in price by a quarter.
  • Diversification: Including precious metals as well as stocks and bonds in your retirement account gives it a well balanced diversification. In the event of a market crash or your other assets losing their value, gold and silver will give protection to the worth of your account.
  • Control Over Your Investments: Each individual investor has different criteria and goals. An Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA is a self directed retirement account. This gives you a large degree of control and flexibility and allows you to makes choices such as which metals and which bars or coins to include, which depository to use and whether to take distributions in cash or physical metals. You can create your own customized account based on your personal circumstances and requirements.
  • Physical Assets: Over exposure to typical paper securities brings with it inherent risk. Paper assets are only as secure as the systems supporting them. The value of stocks and currencies can plummet overnight. Physical precious metals are assets which hold their intrinsic value irrespective of external events, hence their safe haven recognition.
  • Easy To Set Up and Maintain: Your Augusta Precious Metals Gold IRA can be set up simply and quickly. The Company’s precious metals and retirement fund specialists are there to answer your questions, help you with the paperwork and assist you throughout the entire process. They offer all their customers lifetime support with account maintenance.
  • Excellent Customer Service: Your Augusta Precious Metals account is backed up with first class support and service. APM have made compliancy and transparency an integral part of their business. They are the only Gold IRA Company that has ZERO BBB and BCA complaints ever.
  • It’s Not Too Late To Diversify Your Retirement: Don’t let the current rampant inflation and uncertainties caused by geo-political tensions wreck your retirement dreams. Too many folks have been taught a harsh lesson by putting their faith entirely in stocks and bonds.

Start Protecting Orange

How To Speak With a Company Representative

  • To tap into Augusta’s helpful materials and expertise, just go to their website and click on ‘Get Started’. Then simply fill out the form to ask them to send you their FREE GOLD IRA GUIDES – a packet of useful information you can study to get started. One of their Gold IRA specialists will then call you during business hours to verify your address and answer all your questions.
  • You can also call Augusta at 855-386-4202.
  • When you speak with an Augusta agent, I strongly recommend that you ask about the unique, free, one-on-one web conference with their education department. The web conference is an awesome place to start, because you can ask questions personally of these experts.

P.S. Augusta Precious Metals has made a solid commitment to transparency, so I recommend that you don’t be shy about asking ANYTHING related to gold and silver (and precious metals in general).

The team of experienced experts at Augusta Precious Metals has conducted a thorough review and verification process to ensure the utmost accuracy of this article.

About the Author: Doug Young
Doug YoungDoug is a highly experienced professional and widely trusted authority in financial investing, commodity trading, and precious metals. With over 20 years of expertise, he helps others make informed decisions by sharing a combination of personal experience, extensive knowledge and meticulously researched information on gold IRAs, precious metals investing and retirement planning. He regularly writes news items on these topics. He has considerable experience of evaluating Gold IRA and Precious Metals Companies, gained over a period spanning more than a decade.

See full bio